My Strange Tubing Incident.

So, a few have you have asked me what exactly happened yesterday because I was being a bit vague in my status . Therefore, I have decided to write this note as a way of detailing it and maybe inspire at the same time. While I have tagged those who commented and asked, I will NOT be throwing out names of those that were with me due to privacy and protection.

As some of you know, I went tubing on the Delaware River for a few hours and it was relaxing, beautiful and overall fun. The first half we were separated and split up (we went in one by one at different times) and basically just being alone on our own. It was after the break from “lunch” at the hot dog stand where the incident began to happen.

This time, we all got back in our tubes (though somehow I ended up taking the wrong size tube) and for fun, we strapped tubes together for a while. There,  4 of us in a group and one person fell out and poor guy every time he tried getting back in, we all ganged up on him and kept making it difficult for him to get back in. After awhile, my friend(I said I will not name who ) and I decided to leave them and just go our own way. There were rapids and there was one we missed and said friend wanted to go to the rapids we missed and because we were in shallow water, I happily obliged.

I got out of my tube and pulled friend’s tube (with them in it) and mine to the rapids where we missed. I was getting tired but i didn’t tell my friend because I know they were having fun and enjoying it as was I. We were just fooling around and having fun that I put my tube down to get back in it when it floated away and we both went after it. Me on foot and friend on tube but at some point I started to swim towards it which is when the fooling around took a turn for the worse.

The river had waves which is a a lot worse when your actually in the water. I started to swim to shallow (well, I tried) but the waves kept pushing me further out. After a few minutes, I started to realize I needed help because I was “drowning” and fighting with the waves that were strong. I saw a raft up ahead so I screamed as loud as I could asking for help. At first they thought I was joking because they saw what happened moments earlier but this was no jopking matter.I couldn’t swim or tread because the waves were powerful and every time I tried, the waves were pushing me. (At this piont I remembered what I learned in First Aid Class which is when the waves over take you, call for help. Surprised I remembered that.. Instinct maybe?)

Finally, a staff member came with a canoe and told me to hold the ring hole in front and took me to shallow water. After I came back to reality, I started walking down the shallow path hoping to find my tube and my friend but when I saw 3 of my other ones, I screamed at them to come over. Thinking he was being funny, he volunteered his life jacket to me when I needed a tube when lo and behold a yellow boat came driving by asking if i was Ezzy. When I said yes, he had my tube for me.

When I tried to get in, instead of helping me, my friends just sat there watching the show they thought I was giving them. Yeah, it’s funny now but some friends you guys were at the time. 🙂

Oh, and back at shore, I was really stuck in mud and I had to find a new”best friend” because mine were hysterical laughing.  🙂

The irony of all this is that it happened on the eve of the 9 days and I saw my life flashing before my eyes. I have never been as scared and petrified as I was yesterday and I really thought I was a goner (I’m NOT exaggerating) and I might have been if  I wasn’t rescued when I was.

In closing, I just want to thank that special friend (you know who you are) for sticking by me and sending me my tube back when no one else did and for worrying if I’d make it back in one piece. You have my eternal gratitude and I wish I can thank you because it was very sweet and meant a lot to me and I’m not sure I can put it it all into words.

P.S. This doesn’t deter me from doing these kind of activities ever again but I do believe that  G-D kept me alive for some reason I may never know. 🙂

Leave a Reply

