The Challenges of Work

Yesterday I was asked to do something that I have not done before and that was to create RSS feeds and post them. For those who don’t know, RSS stands for Really Simple Syndication. What this does is pretty simple. It allows you to go to any website and subscribe to their feed. For example: If you visit MSNBC and wanted to just know what’s going on with the weather, you’d click on that subscribe link and it goes into your feed reader. The most popular one for that would be Google Reader. Once there, it shows everything you are subscribed to and clicking on any of those links will take you just to that page on the site.

Anyway, my first thing I had to do was figure out how I was going to do this. I didn’t have any “dummy” book to use so I had to find something else which is why I always say Google’s your friend because I was able to find what i need in less then five minutes. What I was pointed to was this: How To Create Feed   which I found to be very helpful and informative. Granted,it took awhile to get the hang of it but once I did, it was a breeze. I haven’t as yet made it all public but the ones I did can be found by searching Google.

So, as the title says: The Challenges of Work with the keyword being CHALLENGE because that’s what this is and, in my opinion, it’s what keeps your job interesting. It’s always good to learn new things especially when you have to do it on your own. But with learning comes new challenges and with new challenges comes excitement. Maybe not in that order but you get the gist.

I get pleasure when I see my work all over the place. It makes me feel accomplished. Proud. Put’s a smile on my face. But more then that, I don’t speak computer. I’m not a programmer, coder or anything in between so whatever I did is pretty basic stuff but believe it or not, even the basic stuff isn’t as easy as it seems. I’m working with every known browser and only one is compatible with what I’m doing which I can’t explain. Strangely enough, when I look at our website, it only looks normal with the IE browser and everything else gets a mobile version which is strange seeing as  we don’t have one….yet. But why the IE one is normal and the others aren’t I have no clue.

Still, it all works,  normal view or not and for that I won’t complain. I’ll just continue adding and creating feeds and trying to learn new things as I go along. If a job isn’t challenging or creative, you might want to question if your in the right place.

Now, when you search for anything having to do with mobile products (accessories and things) just know that one of them may have been one that I did and it’s something that will be there until I delete. Dummy book or no Dummy book. I did it all by myself.

Leave a Reply

