The Notebook And Chick Flicks

I get asked what my favorite movie is every now and  then and my response is always the same: I don’t have one. I mean as long as I’m entertained while watching it then I guess it’s my favorite but in truth I have a few. We all do but my tastes are very, very different then everyone else. Well, maybe they are the same as mine but they are ashamed to admit it but I am not as the title of this blog clearly states. Why should I be ashamed to admit what I like? What do I have to hide?

Well, in case you haven’t  yet figured it out, one of my favorite movies of all time is The Notebook which is based on the book by:  Nicholas Sparks, and one  of the most beautiful love stories ever made or written and in this case I can say that the movie is way better then the book. I have seen this movie more then I have seen any other. This is a definition of the “chick flick” and date movie. Granted, I saw this alone in a dark room in the privacy of my house but still. Anyway, I’m admitting to the world that yes I am a guy who enjoys a good chick flick every now and then. In fact, I have no shame in admitting that sometimes I cry at movies. Some guys may think that this makes you gay and I’m fine with that because if you are a real man then you have no problem showing a sensitive side to you. Some girls even love this in a guy.

But you may be wondering why am I sharing this with you? Well, because the truth is it got me to thinking about a few things… For instance: Is there such a thing as true love or love at first sight? Is it really possible to fall for someone really quickly? How about a long lost love? Do these things exist? I’m weird this way because these are things I like to ponder every now and then. I don’t know why but I find it a good social experiment when you think of these things when someone is lucky in love and you are not. (Not necessarily me just a general overall thing).

One of my favorite scenes in the movie is this: 

This scene actually has strong meanings if you really take the time to think. Not just for story wise but because this may or may not have happened to some of us. Here’s the way I see it. What makes this really romantic and meaningful is that Noah and Allie are out boating when it suddenly begins to pour. Ordinarily one would attempt to get indoors and wait it out but no the boat is brought to shore and Allie walks away upset from an incident that happened 7 years earlier. Noah explains how he never stopped loving her and that yes he did what he promised he would do and proclaims that their love isn’t yet over  and proceeds to kiss her. Now I understand that this is a movie and things like this don’t happen in real life and I’ll argue that by asking how do you know? I mean maybe somewhere out there it’s happened…. But I digress here. The point I’m making is that it is pouring rain out there and Noah and Allie are out there passionately kissing without a care in the world. It’s a scene that always gets to me because of what it says. In a way it speaks to all of us.

So this makes me wonder if there really is such a thing as that one true love? I’m sure Nicholas Sparks wrote this based on some sort of personal experience or something. And if there is that one true love, will we ever find it? How far do we have to go to search for it? The Notebook, in my opinion, asks that very question and tries to answer it. But I have another question: Is there one person that you really and truly love and want that person to know? or maybe you are scared to tell her because it’ll ruin what you may already have with him/her..

But aside from The Notebook, chick flicks, if done right can be something special because it’s something that couples can relate to. Having said that, and in my honesty I can say that I have seen many chick flicks and The Notebook is just something I keep coming back to. Which I guess explains why I am writing this. I think as time went on I grew up and matured and through my own life experiences, I realize that this particular film is something  that I cherish because it makes me want to continue searching for that special person that I’d want to grow old with. I don’t think I can be like Noah but I can treat her right .

And people watching this movie will get different meanings and messages from this movie and that’s okay because I think that was the point. But for me, the message that I took away from this was: No matter what happens. No matter the obstacles. True Love will always find it’s way back to you no matter the situation or consequence because sometimes all we care about is that one person that makes us complete.

One last thing: Movies like this usually have happy endings but this one sorta does and doesn’t. It’s got a happy sad ending. I think it’s the only movie to have the saddest happy ending ever. 

Which just shows that at the end of the day, True Love  absolutely never dies. 🙂

3 thoughts on “The Notebook And Chick Flicks

Leave a Reply

