My Birthday Party

 It’s amazing how things change from one year to the next. Sometimes you don’t even realize it. Sometimes it happens right in front of you. Sometimes we refuse to see the changes and sometimes you are just overwhelmed or surprised by them which is what happened to me. This past weekend (August 18, 2012) I threw a birthday party for myself and invited many people. Last year I did the same but it was a complete fiasco. Only 3 people showed up. To this day I don’t know why no one showed but I was hurt by it. This year I decided to try again but do a complete 180 and do something out of the ordinary. Again, I wasn’t sure if anyone would show but I was willing to risk it and I’m glad I did because I really had no idea who was going to show up but lo and behold not only did people show up they came in spurts which really put a smile on my face. Over 30 people showed up and not once did I see anyone bored or not having fun… 

   Truth be told, I was a bit overwhelmed because I really wasn’t expecting a “full house”. I mean people said they were coming but ya know things happen at the last minute. It was hard for me to enjoy my own shindig because I was the host and as such I have to make sure my guests are enjoying themselves and try to say hello to everyone while mingling at the same time. Anyway, I am not sure what happened in a year’s time.. Did I meet new people? Make new friends? Avoid the competing parties? Word of mouth? Who knows? Who cares? I just didn’t realize how popular I really am.  A friend of  mine told me a few weeks ago that “you have more friends then you realize“.  At the time, I had no idea what he meant or why he said it but he was right. I had people I didn’t know coming, people I hardly see coming and  people I know came as well.  I’ve been told that people don’t care where you make a party because they come for you and while this may be true, it’s also important to pick a good place so there’s enough room for dancing and socializing. Location is also important. 

It’s funny though. Everywhere I go I’m like a celebrity. People know me or know of me. I’m still trying to figure out if this is a good thing or a bad thing. When did I become Mr. Popular? What did I do to deserve this? I know it can’t be because of Facebook at least I hope not. But it wasn’t always like this. I used to be a nobody.. I used to not get out a lot cause I didn’t know so many people and when I did go out it was never how it is today.. So when I say I was overwhelmed it’s not an exaggeration.  

You know you’ve succeeded when everyone says that they had a great time and tells you how great  the party was. It all makes it worthwhile. I was really touched by everyone who showed up. Even the ones that came from far and made the extra effort. I was amazed. I didn’t expect the cake and I didn’t expect that many people. Honestly, I didn’t really know what to expect. I didn’t even know how it would turn out. 

So when I said that a lot has changed in the last year… I still don’t know how or why but it has and for the better. I always think I’m not that popular or that no one likes me or they are just having me just to be nice. If I am a “Ladies Man” as I’m called by some , why am I not popular with them? I must be doing something right someplace and something wrong in the other place… Life is funny that way I suppose. But no sense on reflecting on the past because we can’t change it. We can just focus on the now and learn from the  past.

    Anyway, for any of my friends that are reading this I want to say a thank you for coming out. You made my night.  All of you. I wish I could personally thank each and everyone of you but I can’t. Just know that I was touched and it meant everything to me and I won’t soon forget it.

Leave a Reply

